Some Like It Hot, Some Like It Cold: Breakfast Bowls, Two Ways

For my fondness for farro, I have Harvard University Dining Services, of all entities, to thank. HUDS is also the reason the words “Scheherazade casserole” send shivers down my spine and into my stomach, but that is a story for another post.

Toasted and tossed with roasted root vegetables, farro made a meal divine by HUDS standards. I felt like a cruel joke was being played on me whenever it would appear on the weekly menu, only to be absent from the actual offerings, replaced by some subpar substitute. Beef fajita fettucine, anyone? 

Since leaving the world of HUDS behind, I have let my love of farro run wild. I have tried it drowned it in garden vegetable soup, cooked in coconut water and topped with toasted coconut, and stirred into salads. All so simple, all incredibly satisfying.

My favourite farro preparation has been this farro marinara bowl. Fat pearls of farro simmered in silky tomato broth remain toothsome enough to give girth to the bowl. Their velvety mouthfeel and nutty undertones meld with the verdancy of the basil and spinach into a hearty bowl that I tuck (myself) into without hesitation.

And, to intersperse your farro bowl-feeding spree with something cooler, here is a smoothie bowl that incorporates cashew milk and spinach, but that smacks of strawberry alone. I grew up on skim milk, sousing bran flakes with it, and swigging it by the cupful at breakfast. Cashew milk, however, lends a luscious creaminess to the smoothie that skim milk cannot, making each spoonful feel luxurious.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

FARRO MARINARA BOWL

Ingredients

Farro
Onions
Cauliflower
Mushrooms
Spinach
Basil
Marinara sauce
Cashew milk
Water
Nutritional yeast
Garlic salt
Black pepper

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

STRAWBERRY SPINACH SMOOTHIE

Ingredients

Strawberry Side:
2 frozen strawberries
½ frozen banana
½ cup cashew milk
A dusting of chia seeds, to mimic strawberry seeds

Spinach Side:
A handful of spinach
½ frozen banana
½ cup cashew milk

BOWLS

3 thoughts on “Some Like It Hot, Some Like It Cold: Breakfast Bowls, Two Ways

  1. whitney says:

    Ah! These both look amazing. I’m a big farro fan, I buy the little ‘ten minute farro’ packages at trader joe’s and put it in just about everything. I’ll definitely be trying these out, thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

