Peach-Blueberry Galette + “Market Research”

Fresh produce connected the dots of my culinary journey through Europe. Punnets of strawberries packed for a picnic by the Seine and in palatial parks. Sprightly bell peppers cut into matchsticks and nibbled with Comté aboard the train. Plastic cups overflowing with nuggets of pineapple and melon hawked by Mercat de La Boqueria vendors to unwitting tourists for four times the price of the same amount of produce just a few feet farther (A-, N-, R-, and I ventured past, before opting for bargain juices four times cheaper than what we would find at farmer’s markets back home). Pan con tomate and tortilla española, perfumed from floral olive oils and paired with glasses of feathery, effervescent Cava.

This celebration of the seasonal has followed me back to America. My windowsill now hosts pots of chives and basil, ready to be folded into omelettes and layered in caprese salads. I have mixed mango into muesli, squeezed lemons into muffin top batter, and slathered strawberry sauce on panna cotta. Yet, still, I find myself dreaming in flavours that I once took for granted. A bag of cherries as precious as polished rubies, their worth weighed in the palm of my hand. Creamy avocados sliced over salads or scrambled with eggs the way my sister does, fluffier than cumulus clouds – my kryptonite. Peaches bursting out of their velvety skins and dribbling juice down your chin – my nectar and ambrosia.

I remember the first peach that I had in college. One night, a basket of peaches appeared in the dining hall. I pounced on them. They bore signs of jetlag, but I did not care. The peach bruised at my fingertips as I built up to that first bite, a moment of great anticipation; the seconds following, of bitter disappointment. It was an experience comparable to, I imagine, eating a hairball. I finished the peach on principle, before retreating to fantasies of peach jam and peach cobbler and peaches in their purest form, plucked straight from the tree on an Okanagan family vacation.

So when I was feeling the itch to make a galette à la Paris street food, laced with crisp edges and oozing with filling, and when I spotted just-ripe peaches at the grocery store, I knew it was meant to be. This galette recipe happens to be gluten-free and dairy-free, for those of you with associated food allergies or sensitivities. I happen to love the robust, earthy flavour of buckwheat, which is usually used for such a galette, but since my recent experiments with nut products (vanilla almond milk, cinnamon raisin cashew cream) left me with a surfeit of almond meal, almond milk, and cashew cream, I incorporated those instead. I could see other sweet and savoury combinations bringing out the almond flavor of the crepes – claret cherry compote, roasted pear and blue cheese medley, caramelized onions and Gruyère, brown butter and sage sweet potato stuffing – but for my peach craving, this galette hit the spot.
Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

PEACH-BLUEBERRY GALETTE

Ingredients

Crepes:
⅛ cup oats
⅛ cup almond meal
⅛ cup almond milk
⅛ tsp vanilla
1 tsp sugar
A pinch of salt

Filling:
3 small peaches, sliced
A handful of blueberries
A dash of cinnamon
A few drops of vanilla
Fresh basil, shredded
Cashew cream

It’s as Easy as 1, 2, 3 Peaches

Combine peach slices and blueberries with cinnamon and vanilla in a small bowl. Set aside. Grind oats in a food processor. Combine with almond meal and flour in a medium bowl. Add milk, vanilla, sugar, and salt. Whisk until smooth. Heat a large nonstick or lightly greased pan over low heat. Pour enough batter to cover the pan in a thin layer. Cook until just set. Loosen crepe around the edges with a spatula and transfer to a plate. Repeat with remaining batter. Fill crepes with the peach and blueberry mixture. Fold crepes over the filling, and top with basil confetti and a dollop – or a quenelle, if you are feeling fancy – of cashew cream. Bon appétit!

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

One thought on “Peach-Blueberry Galette + “Market Research”

Leave a Reply

